Planning a Lesson

August 25, 2008 at 3:34 am (1)

The time has come for me to create my last project for WS 320. The goal of the project is to create a teaching module on a subject of my choosing. I need to keep the subject simple, as I only have 2 weeks to complete the project, but I also want it to be something I’m interested in. Here’s a brainstorm of potential ideas:

  • How to make a PCB (Prefabricated Circuit Board)
  • How to use a rock climbing belay device
  • How to fix a bicycle derailer (not derailleur)
  • How to use a SCUBA BC (buoyancy compensator)

Looking at these ideas, I think I like the derailer repair  the best.   My last project really re-sparked my interest in bicycle touring, and going over some basic bicycle mechanics will be good research. I’ll need to look into the various tools needed to repair a derailer. as well as the mechanism itself. I will probably make my module using Microsoft Power Point, and then convert the pages into a pdf. I’ve added some links to this weblog that relate to derailer repair.

Leave a Reply

